Part 2. Designing Seven Socially Sustaining Social Institutions

Part 2 uses the mechanics provided in Part 1 to set the standards of performance for the designs of the social institutions of the family, economy and finance, education, health care, justice, religion, and democratic process. Doing so will necessitate organizations in those institutions to take on those designs. The intention is to first bring those designs into existence before the collapse of a democratic nation — most importantly to provide designs for creating functional, socially sustainable democratic nations after the collapse.

“Socially sustainable” is defined as the ability of a society to become socially self-sustaining indefinitely…, for 5 years, 50 years, 250 years, 500 years. That becomes possible because of the intention for its existence, the design of its functions, and the standards of performance of all organizations within the seven social institutions. The responsibilities of individuals and organizations in each of the major social institutions of society must adhere to a system of decision-making priorities that are consistent with the seven values and the consequent proactive morality and ethics.

Sustainable change, after all,
depends not upon compliance with external mandates
or blind adherence to regulation,
but rather upon the pursuit of the greater good.

Douglas B. Reeves